Wild Rift SEA Championship 2021 Format Revealed!

by Trilz
0 comment

The format for the Wild Rift SEA Championship 2021 was revealed last Friday (3rd September). The event will start on 14th Sept and ends on 3rd Oct. Twenty-one teams from across the region will compete for a share of the $200,000 (approx RM829,000) prize pool and the two slots to World Championship 2021.

The Format

The Wild Rift SEA Championship 2021 format is split into three stages: 

  • Play-ins will be from 14th to 19th September
  • Group stage will be from 23rd to 26th September
  • Playoffs will be from 30th September to 3rd October

Let’s take a deeper look at each stage of the event! 


There will be twelve teams featured during play-ins. The featured teams will be the second-placed teams of Wild Rift SEA Icon Series Fall 2021 from each country. Namely, they are Vietnam, Thailand, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, and Singapore. 

Besides this, they’ll be joined by another four teams that performed well during the previous Summer Super Cup. There is one team each from Thailand and Taiwan, and two teams from Vietnam.  

The twelve teams will be split into three brackets of four teams each: Bracket A, B, and C. Each bracket will compete in a double-elimination format, in a best-of-five series. The last man standing from each bracket will make it to the group stage. 

Group Stage

The three teams from the play-ins will join nine other teams in the group stage. The nine teams are the champions of SEA Icon Series Fall 2021, as well as the winner of the ESL Wild Rift Oceania Championship. 

These twelve teams will split into two groups with six teams each. They will compete in a single round-robin format, in a best-of-two series. The end result is that each team in the group will face every other team once.

Finally, the top four teams from each group will advance to the playoffs. 


The eight teams from the playoffs will compete in a double-elimination bracket in the playoffs. Teams will get an advantage based on their performance during the group stages.

The ladder’s format for SEA Championships Playoffs, ESL Twitter

The winner of each group (Seed 1) will get a bye to the second round of the upper bracket. The next two runner-up teams from each group (Seeds 2 and 3) will be in the first round of the upper bracket.

The fourth-placed team of the two groups (Seed 4) will be in the lower bracket, where they will await the teams that dropped from the upper bracket.

The matches in the upper bracket, as well as the lower bracket finals, will be best-of-five series. The other lower bracket matches will be a best-of-three series. Lastly, the grand finals will be a best-of-seven series.

In the meantime, you can keep up on all things Wild Rift here at SEAGM.

You may also like

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.